The good, bad and honest about autism…

20140417-080631.jpg

Yesterday was quite a day. I’m in crunch mode as I put the final pieces together for an annual fashion I produce benefitting Hope 4 Autism. But I decided to take time out to enjoy lunch with my family. My huge, dysfunctional family. We went out for lunch and not even half way through appetizers, profanity and name calling began. In a public restaurant might I add. It resulted in me canceling my order and calling a taxi to go home. Now, before anyone goes off in a fit–let’s be real here. Disfunction happens within every family. Every single one. Despite the level of extremity or how often it occurs, it happens. I will not go into detail as to what happened, how it happened or why (though the “why” still has me a bit discombobulated)…because that’s irreverent. What’s important is what I took from it. You know…the everything-happens-for-a-reason, lesson.

I had Sania with me, in her wheelchair (because her tolerance with walking is unstable and unpredictable these days). Irony is, I actually planned not to attend because I didn’t want to struggle with her wheelchair, but decided to take her. I’m glad I did. When we left the table to call and wait for a taxi, I looked down at her. Her face was completely unbothered. And suddenly she smiled. Which made me smile back at her. That moment, I felt what purpose the experience had served. It doesn’t matter what you’re going through, treat others with respect. Even if you don’t agree with them. Sania has taught me so much. Despite her inability to communicate. All through physical expression. We made it home ( surprisingly and thankfully our cab fare was only $13.50). The taxi driver was very helpful. He got out to help me with Sania and her wheelchair.

Once I settled in, I noticed how content Miss. Sania was in her bedroom. She was so happy, just playing alone. So I joined her. This kodak moment says it all.

20140417-084704.jpg
I’ve decided, in our world, autism is nuero-typical (normal), and nuero-typicals are abnormal. I want to be more like Sania. In a perfect world, all of us are.

20140417-084919.jpg

Leave a comment